Goodbye to You, My Twitter Friend

Last night I found out that one of my very first twitter friends @Beautiful1Amy (@cute1amy before she changed it) had passed away. She had been in the hospital for awhile now, but I still spoke to her fairly regularly and never saw this coming. To say I was shocked and devastated would really be an understatement. I spoke with her at least a few times a week. She was always there for me in good times and bad. She always had a kind word, a saucy comment, a book recommendation or a word of advice and I can’t imagine what it will be like without her. She was on 23 years old. Far, far too young to be gone. My life, like my twitter stream, will never be the same without her. I can only take solace in the fact that at least her pain and suffering have been relieved now. Goodbye, dear Amy, thank you for being such a wonderful friend.

For all that I get riled up when people (*cough* Dr. Phil!) say that lupus is no big deal, isn’t dangerous, isn’t real I sometimes find myself playing it down. Ok so some of that is probably a coping response to the stress. Still, I occasionally miss a med time or knowingly overdo it and I say “oops” as if it’s no big deal. Sometimes when you’re sick all the time it’s easy to forget how dangerous that illness can be, and how important it is to be careful. Or, even if you’re careful, how threatening the illness can be on a whim of it’s own. I find myself chastised and resolved to be ever more diligent against monster that is lupus.

In loving memory of Amy. RIP.

13 Comments

Filed under coping, insensitivity/ignorance, introspection, shout outs & thank you's

13 responses to “Goodbye to You, My Twitter Friend

  1. Great post! Amy was one of the first people I friended on twitter and though we never met face to face, I miss her. I woke up this morning still thinking about her and what you wrote about how we tend to play with fire everytime we do things w/our illnesses that we shouldn’t, hit home to me! I take so much for granted and it could all be taken away from me if I’m not more mindful.

    Since life is so short and we’re not guaranteed tomorrow, I’d like to tell you that I started A Lupie Existence as a result of coming across your blog! I don’t think I ever told you that but I thought I’d seize the moment and share that with you. Its the small things that can mean so much to others! You’ve touched my life and I’m so grateful that you did! ❤

    • wow, I am truly honored. It is always so, so nice to know that my blog posts aren’t just floating off into the interent ocean somewhere. your blog on tumblr is fantastic, and i know i chat with you on twitter fairly often. thank you for being so much a part of my life!

  2. This just made me tear up again. I hope her pain is gone ❤

    • Three of my favourite blogs to read- thank you to all of you. I am new to Twitter so did not ever ‘meet’ Amy but I know connections/relationships can be so meaningful and really a life line at times so I am very sorry for your losses xx

  3. I also wish I knew what to think about death… R.I.P. Amy

  4. I guess we never know how much were effecting each other in small or large ways. I don’t always reply to you enough, didn’t reply to Amy enough, but you’ve both changed my life for the better. RIP dear friend.

  5. I talked to her when she was in the hospital too. She always commented on my tweets! I can’t believe I didn’t realize she hadn’t posted for so long and that something might of happened. I feel bad about not knowing or thinking about it sooner but you don’t think that something bad would really happen! I know we’re all “sick” and you know it could cause death but you never link the two or really think it happens or can imagine it, ya know what I mean? This makes everything so real, so scary, and so sad.

  6. marsha burgess

    Let me just start out by saying two things: lupus is a deadly disease, and “Dr” Phil is an ass who was given a show because people love controversary and seeing other people being torn apart, which is what he does best {Christians vs lions, anyone??}. I’m so very sorry you lost your friend, and you all my deepest condolences on her untimely death. I DO agree with your resolution, too….I don’t know how many times I find myself if not OUT, then down to my final few pills, and its a HUGE deal to get everything done. Stay well, everyone, and rest with the Angels, Amy, darlin’….

  7. This is so very sad for so many reasons. Sounds like heaven has gained an angel though and i’m sure she would have left her lupus to this world where it came from. ((Gentle Hugs))

Can't wait to hear what you think!

